Library Home Page
Library Home Page
 Search 
 eBooks 
 Articles 
 Course Reserves 
 My Account 
 Library Hours 
 Other Libraries 
   
BasicAdvancedKeywordMagazines and NewspapersHistory
Search:    Refine Search  
> You're searching: McLennan Community College
 
Item Information
 HoldingsHoldings
  Booklist Review
  Choice Review
  Publisher Weekly Review
  Summary
  Table of Contents
 
 
 More by this author
 
  •  
  • Lessig, Lawrence, author.
     
     Subjects
     
  •  
  • Democracy -- United States.
     
  •  
  • Representative government and representation -- United States.
     
  •  
  • Political participation -- United States.
     
  •  
  • Political parties -- United States.
     
  •  
  • Polarization (Social sciences) -- United States.
     
  •  
  • United States -- Politics and government -- 21st century.
     
     Browse Catalog
      by author:
     
  •  
  •  Lessig, Lawrence, author.
     
      by title:
     
  •  
  •  They don't represent...
     
     
     
     MARC Display
    They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy / Lawrence Lessig.
    by Lessig, Lawrence, author.
    View full image
    New York, New York : Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow, [2019]
    Subjects
  • Democracy -- United States.
  •  
  • Representative government and representation -- United States.
  •  
  • Political participation -- United States.
  •  
  • Political parties -- United States.
  •  
  • Polarization (Social sciences) -- United States.
  •  
  • United States -- Politics and government -- 21st century.
  • ISBN: 
    9780062945716
    0062945718
    9780062945730
    Description: 
    xv, 334 pages ; 24 cm
    Edition: 
    First edition.
    Contents: 
    Introduction -- Part I. Flaws: -- The unrepresentative "them" -- The unrepresentative us -- Part II. Fixes: -- Fixing them -- Fixing us -- What "fixed" would get us -- Conclusion -- Appendix: Reformers.
    Summary: 
    In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible.
    Lessig believes that along many dimensions, a single flaw--unrepresentativeness--has detached our government from the people. Our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions. Here he charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nation's citizenry. Lessig shows that "We the people" are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while political polling reflects and normalizes our ignorance, feeding it back into the system as representative of our will. (Publisher)
    Add to my list 
    Copy/Holding information
    LocationCollectionCall No.Status 
    McLennan Community College LibraryNew BooksJK1726 .L48 2019Checked InAdd Copy to MyList

    Format:HTMLPlain TextDelimited
    Subject: 
    Email to:


    Horizon Information Portal 3.25_9382
     Powered by Dynix
    © 2001-2013 SirsiDynix All rights reserved.
    Horizon Information Portal